The Zimbabwe Electoral Commission (ZEC) says groundwork for the 9 December by-elections is now in the final stages.

ZEC recently announced the list of candidates who were duly nominated for by-elections.

Rodney Kiwa, ZEC deputy chairperson, told state media that the elections management body is well prepared for the elections.

“Preparations for the December 9 elections are now at an advanced stage and ZEC has now released the list of preliminary polling stations. We are adequately prepared for the elections,” said Khiwa.

ZEC recently gazetted 513 preliminary polling stations for the by-elections, with the final list of polling stations set to be published on December 9th.

The by-election, triggered by recalls of CCC MPs by the self-appointed interim secretary general, Sengezo Tshabangu, is set to gobble USD 5 million of taxpayers’ money.

By-elections will be held in Binga North, Bulawayo South, Cowdray Park, Lobengula-Magwegwe, Lupane East, Mabvuku-Tafara, Beitbridge West, Mpopoma-Mzilikazi and Nketa constituencies.

Meanwhile, Tshabangu has recalled another batch of CCC representatives which is likely to cause more by-elections. So far, Tshabangu has recalled 27 MPs, 14 senators, and 69 councillors.